Letting Go

“Some of us think holding on makes us strong, but sometimes it’s letting go.” Herman Hesse

I am clinging

To a branch of an oak tree.

Clutching so tightly

My knuckles burst

Out of my hands.

My feet dangle above the ground.

My body is stretched

By the force of gravity.

My heart thumps so loudly,

My eardrums almost burst.

HELP!

I can’t let go.

If I fall, what will happen?

I can’t look down.

Fear paralyzes my soul.

Circumstance seizes

My weary grip.

One hand slips.

Tears stream down my

Sun charred face.

I look down

To see the ground

One foot below.

I let go.

And step into my new horizon.

 

Leave a Reply

