The Death of a Praying Mantis

The Death of a Praying Mantis

A funny thing happened the other day. My daughter found this large praying mantis. It was 2-3 inches long. Its body was delicate, yet strong looking. She held it in her hand calling me, “Mom, come here and look at this!” We were amazed at its unique beauty. It had a long green stick-like body. It meandered over her arm as she tried to hold it. I ran and got her cellphone so that we could take a picture. “Click,click, click!” I had captured its beauty. My dogs were curious too. My chocolate labrador jumped up and promptly smashed it. Just like that, this beautiful insect was dead. My daughter moaned, “Ahhh, Nelson, you killed it!”. I began to laugh at the irony of the situation. Amazing. The life we live is so random! One moment we can be full of: joy, health and wonder, and the next moment, it’s gone. Or, we’re gone. There was no devil that magically killed the insect. The insect hadn’t sinned. It just was. Then, it just wasn’t.

This just reminded me of the wondrous nature of my life; and, the importance of living each moment in its entirety.

One thought on “The Death of a Praying Mantis

  1. Life and everything in it is a gift from the infinite mind;
    and the only way that life can go wrong is by the limited finite mind.

Leave a Reply

